IPL 2022: list of captains & teams | Know everything right here

TATA IPL 2022: Hello friends TATA IPL 2022 auction is finally over. 10 teams participated in the auction along with the old 8 teams, this time Lucknow and Gujarat Titans also completed their team by spending huge amounts. Lucknow spent full money and bid on 18 players. At the same time, Chennai Super Kings bought 21 players while saving 2 crore 95 lakhs.

As you know, this time IPL is going to be different and let us tell you that this time there will be total 10 teams in IPL and which is divided into 2 group, as you know every year whenever IPL starts then it seems like festival has comes, people are very curious that when the IPL starts and we enjoy the IPL sitting at home and cricket stadium, the 15th season of the Indian Premier League i.e. IPL will start from 26 March. 

Friends, if you do not know, then let me tell you that 10 teams are going to participate in IPL 2022. Out of these, the captains of 9 teams have been announced. Now only one franchise is yet to announce its captain. On Monday 28 February, Punjab Kings also announced the captain of their team, while Royal Challengers Bangalore i.e RCB is yet to announce their captain. So we will tell you all the information regarding TATA IPL 2022 so please read our full article so you will not miss anything.

Names of captains of TATA IPL 2022

Names of captains of TATA IPL 2022

IPL 2022: So far this season of IPL has seen only one foreign captain. Sunrisers Hyderabad retained Kane Williamson as the captain of their team. Apart from these, no foreign captaincy belongs to the IPL franchise. Not only this, the captains of most of the franchises are the top players of the Indian team, who have been playing international cricket continuously for the Indian team. Friends, as you know, this year two new teams have been added in IPL history and all the teams have selected their captains till now, only Royal Challengers Bangalore has not selected their captain yet, so let us tell which IPL team has chosen whom as its captain.

The following is the list of the captions who are going to lead the teams:

Chennai Super KingsCSKMS Dhoni
Delhi CapitalsDCRishabh Pant
Gujarat TitansFTHardik Pandya
Kolkata Knight RidersKKRShreyas Iyer
Lucknow Super Giants LSGKL Rahul
Mumbai IndiansMIRohit Sharma
Punjab Kings PBKSMayank Agarwal
Rajasthan RoyalsRRSanju Samson
Sunrisers HyderabadSRHKane Williamson
Royal Challengers BangaloreRCBYet to be announced.

During the tournament, a total of 70 league matches will be played across four venues in Mumbai and Pune.

Team are divided into two groups

This time there are few changes on TATA IPL and some new things are there so lets see how this works. The teams have been divided into two virtual groups. It has been done based on the number of times being crowned the IPL Champions followed by the number of times the teams reached the final of the tournament.

List of Group A teams:

  1. Mumbai Indians (MI)
  2. Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)
  3. Rajasthan Royals (RR)
  4. Delhi Capitals (DC)
  5. Lucknow Super Giants (LSG)

List of Group B teams:

  1. Chennai Super Kings (CSK)
  2. Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)
  3. Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)
  4. Punjab Kings (PBKS)
  5. Gujarat Titans (GT)

List of IPL teams who won tournaments

TATA IPL 2022: Friends as you know till now IPL has happened a total 14 times and it is going to be 15th time this year. This time it will be a little different from last IPL seasons because this time IPL has 10 teams instead of 8 and there are 70 matches to play. There is also a change in the procedure, 

Mumbai Indians are the most successful team in league’s history in terms of the number of titles won. The Chennai Super Kings have won 4 titles,the Kolkata Knight Riders have won two titles, and the other three teams who have won the tournament are the Deccan Chargers, Rajasthan Royals and Sunrisers Hyderabad. The current champions is the Chennai Super Kings who defeated the Kolkata Knight Riders by 27 runs in the final of the 2021 season securing their fourth title.

  • Mumbai Indians (2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 and 2020)
  • Chennai Super Kings (2010, 2011, 2018 and 2021)
  • Kolkata Knight Riders (2012 and 2014)
  • Rajasthan Royals (2008)
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad (2016)
Team are divided into two group

Who will be the captain of Royal Challengers Bangalore ?

Since Virat Kohli decided to step down from T20 captaincy since then the debate around RCB’s next skipper started. The franchise definitely wants someone who can take forward Virat Kohli’s legacy and his efforts. It will be interesting to see who steps into Virat’s shoes in the coming season.

Meanwhile, Australian all-rounder Glenn Maxwell is reckoned to be the most likely and suitable player for the role. He joined RCB a year ago and he did brilliant work for the franchise in the middle order. He not only removed his underperforming tag in the IPL but also rescued his side to a comfortable position many times in IPL 2021. And let us tell you that this time the Tata IPL 15th season will be held in only two cities, which is only Mumbai and Pune, the entire IPL match will be played in these two cities, due to Covid-19, the BCCI has decided that not in each team’s home ground match will be played.

TATA IPL VenueMumbai & Pune

IPL 2022: Schedule,Match Dates,Teams & Venue.

Kerala Budget: What is the Kuttanad package and its importance 

Digital Health ID Card: What is a Digital Health ID Card? Know how to use

HPBOSE 12th Class Term 1 Result 2022 Link @ hpbose.org


When was IPL 2022 started?

The forthcoming edition of the IPL will start from March 26 with a game between Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders at the Wankhede Stadium, and end on May 22 (Sunday). There will be 12 double-headers in the league this time.

Is Jason Roy not playing IPL 2022?

England batter Jason Roy has pulled out of IPL 2022 citing the challenge of staying in the tournament bubble for an extended period. ESPNcricinfo has learned that Roy, who was signed by Gujarat Titans for his base price of INR 2 crore (USD 266,000) at the auction, informed the franchise of his decision last week.

Who is best captain in IPL?

Mahendra Singh Dhoni. At the top of this list comes the most successful captain in IPL history in terms of win percentage: Mahendra Singh Dhoni. Leader of the Chennai Super Kings, he led them to two IPL titles in 2010 and 2011 and also to the 2011 Champions League Twenty20.


The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a professional 20-20 cricket league in India contested every year by franchise teams representing Indian cities. The league, founded in 2007 by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) member Lalit Modi, IPL schedule over April and May of every year. IPL is the biggest cricket league in the world in which players from every country want to take part in it. There is too much competition in the IPL. If you liked the information, then do not forget to share it and If you have any further questions or comments about the Indian Premier League 2022, then please leave them in the comments section below. We will make every effort to respond to all of your questions and concerns as soon as possible

Official WebsiteClick Here
HomepageClick Here

Leave a Comment